I wanted a diagnosis. Today I got one.

At my monitoring appointment, the doctor discovered that I am not responding to the typical dosage. He said that is an indication of “diminished ovarian reserve.”

On Saturday, it seemed like everything was fine. Eight follicles. They were uneven between the right and left, but there were eight.

Today he found one large follicle, and six others that weren’t responding. Basically, the big one was soaking up all the drugs. The others will not likely get any. If we did IVF, it would likely only produce one egg.

He wants to convert this cycle to an IUI. I suppose that’s what we’ll do.

To say that I am surprised and disappointed is an understatement. I’m in shock. Nobody thought we would have to cancel the cycle.

Funny how having a diagnosis doesn’t do so much after all.

