After using OPKs for a couple days, I am summoning the willpower to, well, willfully ignore my cycle and all signs thereof for the next ?? days. I have established that I am ovulating later than my usual 14 days in. Here’s my goal, internet: to try my hardest to enjoy the next ?? days with the understanding that my cycle will be longer than 28 days and to avoid reading anything into it. Let it come when it comes, and go with the flow (or lack thereof).

We’ll see how that goes.

By the way, I came across an abstract of an article in a scientific journal saying that researchers may have located a few different genetic mutations that could lead to DOR. Maybe you’ve read the same thing. The authors also mention in general terms some other stuff we might want to watch out for. We’re not talking red-alert, get-your-wills-prepared-because-the-end-is-nigh kind of stuff. After all, everybody in my family who may have carried or is carrying this genetic fuck-up (as I like to think of it) is either still alive or lived into his or her later years. But along the lines of deciding how much information you want to know versus living in ignorance, I wasn’t sure if it would be a gift or a source of anxiety for me to post it here, given that I’ve gotten myself a decent little network of DOR bloggers.

To that end, please let me know if you’d like me to send you a link to the article.

My own view is, anxiety or otherwise, it’s better to know the risk factors we’re all subject to – like knowing the odds of an IVF cycle working or not – from the outset, to prepare ourselves mentally and to do everything possible to address them. I have diminished ovarian reserve, so I’ll take DHEA and hope for the best. We all know that we DOR ladies can expect menopause to arrive earlier than it does for our peers, so I need to make sure I’m getting enough high-impact exercise and calcium and so forth. I think all of us need to make sure we have a general physician and a GYN who are aware of and take our situations seriously, and then try to go on living life.

Truthfully, I’m beginning to think that every human being living has some unfortunate genetic mutation or other with a risk factor associated. My grandfather recently passed away at the age of 92 with his mental faculties blessedly intact; his own mother suffered from Alzheimer’s and didn’t even recognize him in her final years. I think my grandfather also had a heart murmur? But there you go: 92. Who knows what got him his long and fruitful life.

But knowing or not knowing is a decision everyone should make for herself.

Again – drop me a note if you want to see the article.

