Seriously. All together now…

Had my lining check in advance of the FET today. Long story short, I had to correct the RE and his staff for the millionth time that we are transferring day 3 embryos, not day 5 blasts – which today resulted in them discovering that I had been given the wrong prescriptions, and that discovery wouldn’t have happened if I hadn’t asked my RE about it specifically. If I hadn’t already had a cycle with a day-3 transfer and asked why some things were different.

I like my RE. I like my clinic. I don’t want to have a reason to question him or his staff.

But, dude!

I finally decided I would rather be pregnant than popular. I walked myself down to the labs and asked if I could speak to an embryologist. The lab director himself came out and visited with me, for which I was grateful. I asked each of the nurses I spoke to to confirm that they understood that these are day-3, not day-5 embryos. I asked – not for the first time – if they were sure these prescriptions were in fact the correct ones.

Some might read this and feel tempted to write something in the comments about looking for a new RE. I don’t think that’s what’s called for. I think he’s a very good doctor and that the clinic and lab are very good operations. Besides: it’s either watch like a hawk here to stop mistakes from happening, or watch like a hawk at a new clinic. I’m just frustrated that my case has wandered outside normal territory to a place where everybody’s making incorrect assumptions.

However, there was one rather beautiful bright spot. I can’t write about it in detail without betraying my own personal info or that of the nurse I was talking to – but she shared some rather lovely stories about her own 6-celled embryo, who is now 20 years old. I enjoyed that.

So, deep breaths. Calmness. Any significant medical endeavor always involves hiccups.

I think I’m going to leave messages for the clinic and the lab the day before the transfer, however, just to make sure they’re on their game. If this fails, it needs to be because of science, not because of human error.

